I scream, you scream…

This post has been a long time coming!  Things have gotten busy around here, but I’ve been really excited to share this idea.  I went a little picture-crazy with this post…I got a new camera from hubby for Christmas and I’ve loved playing around with it.

I needed a cake for a co-workers birthday, and I was looking for something different.  Because I like ice cream better than cake, I wanted to do something frozen…even though it was January.  After some clicking around the internet, I had a plan. It couldn’t have been easier, and the cake was a huge hit!  I only got a small taste.

 

Ice Cream Sandwich Cake

You need:

12 ice cream sandwiches

1 tub of whipped cream, frozen

15 oreos, crumbled into bits

1 jar of hot fudge

sprinkles/decorations

 

1. Unwrap all 6 ice cream sandwiches.  Lay the sandwiches out on a medium-sized square plate.

IMG_0081

 

2. Warm the hot fudge and spread a thin layer over the ice cream sandwiches.  I used Archer Farms Sea Salt Hot Fudge, because I always love a little salt with my sweet.

IMG_0082

 

3.  Remove the whipped cream from the freezer and spread a thin layer over the hot fudge.  It will be tough to get a thin, smooth layer…but it will be hidden, so it doesn’t have to be perfect.

IMG_0083

 

4. Sprinkle the Oreo crumbles over the whipped cream.

IMG_0085

 

5. Unwrap the last 6 ice cream sandwiches and layer them neatly on top.

IMG_0087

 

6.  Frost the cake using the rest of the whipped cream.  Sprinkle and decorate as you please, then freeze it for 10 minutes.

IMG_0089

 

7. Smooth the sides of the cake using a butter nice, making it all nice and neat.  Heat the rest of the hot fudge and drizzle away.

IMG_0093

 

 

This cake is unique, simple, and tastes amazing!  It is perfect for birthdays, but easy enough for everyday.  Enjoy!

 

IMG_0100

 

2 thoughts on “I scream, you scream…

Leave a Reply

