The Perfect Candy Drizzle

For the year’s holiday season, I kept it very simple.  The holidays really seemed to sneak up on me this year!  Because I was so last minute, I had less time to give cookies away.  I knew that if I made a ton of cookies, I’d eat a ton of cookies!

I settled on traditional chocolate chip cookies with dried cranberries and pistachios.  They added some fun holiday flavor, and made the cookies more festive looking.  We don’t have any little kids yet, but these would have been so fun to leave out for Santa!

For my second creation, I dipped mint Oreos in white chocolate, added gold sprinkles, and drizzled them with festive green candy coating.  I wanted them to look like ornaments, and be almost to pretty to eat.

I love these treats because they look tough, but are so easy to make!  The hardest part is controlling the temperature of your chocolate, and perfecting the perfect drizzle.

 

Getting the perfect candy coating drizzle

I start with a package of white candy coating and add food coloring, however you can also buy pre-color wafers to make it easier.  I heat my drizzle chocolate until it is almost liquid, adding shortening as I go.  The shortening makes it more fluid, and I add it one teaspoon at a time until it is a pourable consistency.

Equipped with an oven mit on each hand (the coating is VERY hot), I pour the drizzle into a plastic baggie and seal it.  I move the chocolate to one end of the bag and, very carefully, I cut a very small part of the tip off.  I now have a customized tool that allows me to get a perfect drizzle going, and I can throw it away after I am done.

This method is basically fool-proof, provided your drizzle is the right consistency, and you don’t cut too large of an opening in the baggie.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

Merry Christmas,

Kristine

Leave a Reply

