Absurd Pecans

I just love this time of year.

It’s the day after Thanksgiving and Christmas is just around the corner.

As I sit here basking in the glow of my food coma, I feel obligated to share a sweet recipe that was a raging success yesterday.

It started with a half pound bag of pecans.

We had been invited to join some friends for dinner, I had never made a pumpkin pie before.  I really wanted to try.  As I weaved through the aisles of Trader Joe’s, picking up ingredients, I grabbed a bag of pecans as an afterthought.  My husband suggested I throw the on the pie, and I knew I’d find a use for them.

Wednesday night, I started my first pumpkin pie.  As I looked at the pecans more, I started to reconsider throwing them on the pie.  What if they burned?  What if someone had a nut allergy?  Maybe I should just include them on the side?  Suddenly, it dawned on me.

I would candy them….with bacon!

They turned out amazing!  As is often the case when you infuse something the bacon, they were best described as “totally addictive.”

Absurd Pecans

You need:

– 1/2 lb. of pecans, halved

– 2 egg whites

– 1 Tbsp. water

– 4 to 5 slices of bacon (REAL bacon, not turkey bacon)

– 1 Tbsp. bacon drippings

– 1 cup of brown sugar

– 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

– 3/4 tsp. salt

1. Preheat the oven to 250 degrees.  Cover a baking sheet with aluminum foil.

2. In a medium sized mixing bowl, combine the brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt.  Set aside.

3. In a separate medium sized mixing bowl, combine the egg whites and water and whisk until frothy.  Set aside.

4. Cook the bacon over medium heat under crispy (but not burned!).  Remove the bacon from the pan and set it aside.  Carefully pour the bacon drippings that remain in the pan into the egg white mixture.  It should be about 1 tablespoon of grease.  The grease will spit and be very hot, be careful not to burn yourself!

5. Dice the crispy bacon up into bits, removing any pieces that are rubbery and fatty.

6. Drop the pecans and bacon bits into the egg/grease mixture and stir until coated.

7. Drop the coated pecans into the sugar mixture and stir until coated.

8. Drop the sugary coated pecans onto the foil covered baking sheet.

9. Bake the pecans for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.  I changed the aluminum foil after half an hour, the eliminate the extra sugar and get the pecans crispy.  It’s not necessary, but will minimize burning.

10. Let your absurd pecans cool before tasting.  I know it will be tough…but they will be super hot and you’ll burn your mouth.

There you have it…these little treats are so easy to make, and they would make a great gift!

I guess I should probably explain the name: I was texting our friend on my iPhone.  True to form, autocorrect kept taking it upon itself to change “candied” to “absurd.”  Normally, these “corrections” enrage me.  However, this time…it seemed like a perfect suggestion.

Yes autocorrect, I agree…it is absurd how good these pecans are.

Wishing you a delicious holiday season,

Kristine

Leave a Reply

