Wasabi + White Chocolate…

When I have the time to indulge in a little television, I can be almost guaranteed to find something worth watching on a few select food channels.  Foodie TV is always entertaining, it can be inspiring, and I sometimes discover flavor combinations that are down-right awesome.  A few months back, channel surfing lead me to a show about food trucks.

Gourmet food served from trucks?  I was intrigued.

This show took me all over the country…city to city, truck to truck.  It profiled ambitious culinary minds that had  taken their skills to the streets.  One particularly awesome ice cream truck caught my eye in (where else) New York City.

The truck offered an array of creative twists on traditional soft-serve ice cream.  Sugar with salt, sweet with heat…I was hearing a lot combinations that I love.  One cone in particular stoof out: a vanilla soft-serve cone dipped in white chocolate and rolled in…crushed wasabi peas.

Fantastic.

As my mouth started watering, I grabbed a pen and paper and started to jot some idea down.  How could I play with this fun new flavor combination?

Suddenly, I had it.

Introducing: Wasabi White Chip Macadamia Truffles

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp salt

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup milk

1 package of white chocolate chips

1-2 cups dried wasabi green peas, finely chopped

1 cup chopped macadamia nuts

1 package vanilla candy coating

1-2 tsp shortening

Wax Paper & 2-3 cookie sheets

Similar to the Michigan Cherry Chip Truffles from my Love at First Bite post, begin by creaming the butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar on a low speed.  Add the milk and vanilla, and continue mixing.  Once everything is nice and fluffy, add the salt, and then add the flour slowly…1/2 cup at a time.

Once you have everything well blended, slowly mix in the white chocolate chips, macademia nuts, and about half of the wasabi peas.

I chose to chop up the chips beforehand, to help them blend better.

You’ll end up with a very chunky cookie dough.

Make sure the peas are well chopped, you don’t want to surprise someone with a mouthful of wasabi…

Chill your dough for about an hour.  Once the dough is a good consistency, roll the dough into balls and place them on a cookie sheet, covered in wax paper.  I like to use a tablespoon to measure out my truffles, it keeps me from making them too large.  You should get between 2-3 dozen.  Chill them again for at least an hour.  The longer you chill them, the more quickly the chocolate will set when you dip them.

Same as before, while the dough balls are chilling, melt the chocolate over low heat.  I break the candy coating in half, include 1 tsp of shortening, and melt it on the lowest heat on my stove.  If you notice the chocolate starting to scorch, add an extra teaspoon of shortening and repeat as needed.  Be careful not to add too much, as you truffles can turn out greasy.

Remove the chilled dough balls from the fridge and dip them individually in the chocolate with a normal metal kitchen fork. A fork, I have found, works better than a spoon because it allows more excessive coating to fall off…and leaves less of a tail.  Drop them onto the waxed paper, wait about 5 seconds, and sprinkle each truffle with wasabi immediately.  You don’t want your truffles to set before you add the best part.

If you want to keep the heat to a minimum, consider sprinkling your treats with chopped white chips instead.

I hope you enjoying wowing your family and friends with this unique sweet treat!

All the best,

Kristine

Leave a Reply

