Cake Batter Oatmeal

Based on the recipes I post, by now you probably think all I eat is candy and cake balls.  However, I try to live a healthy and balanced life.  Sure, I cheat every now and then…but I really do enjoy eating healthy.

As an avid runner, I need to be sure to feed my body things that are substantial….like oatmeal.  Nothing sticks to your ribs like a bowl of hot oatmeal!

Full of fiber, oatmeal is a proven weight loss staple.  Beyond purely dropping pounds, oatmeal has a variety of additional benefits, as seen here.

One morning, I was preparing my morning bowl of oatmeal, and I realized we were out of brown sugar.  Drat.   Sure, I eat my oats to be healthy, but a little sweet kick never hurts.  I scanned the pantry for appropriate substitutes.   Honey, peanut butter, syrup…nothing struck me.  Suddenly, my eyes settled on an open box of cake mix and I had it!

Introducing: Cake Batter Oatmeal 

You need:


1/2-3/4 cup oatmeal  (I use quick oats)

1-2 Tbsp. soy coffee creamer (this makes the oatmeal richer; skim milk works, too)

1-2 Tbsp. cake mix (any flavor!)

Prepare the oatmeal as directed.  Add the creamer and cake mix, stir, and you’re done!

Easy peasy.   Enjoy!

This breakfast keeps me full all morning!  I look forward to it in the morning.

It tastes like a bowl of cake batter, but (best part!) it is under 250 calories!

My only regret about Cake Batter Oatmeal is that I hadn’t thought of it sooner.

Best,

Kristine

5 thoughts on “Cake Batter Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: “Cake Batter Oatmeal” – hello, sugar | Turning Point

Leave a Reply

