A Taste of Summer

Happy March!

March weather in Michigan is…variable, to say the least. Snow, thunderstorms, sun, fog…it’s right around this time when I start craving summer. One of my favorite summer activities has always been camping, and it’s not camping without a campfire….and it’s not a campfire without s’mores!

During a recent s’more craving, I started thinking about how I could bring these treats to life in March. I needed a way to make s’mores…indoors.

And I didn’t want to use the microwave.

Indoor S’mores


You Need:

1 box of graham crackers

1 bag of mini marshmallows

1 brick of white candy coating

1 brick of chocolate candy coating

1-2 tsp. of shortening

Parchment Paper

2 cookie sheets

Start by lining the cookie sheets with parchment paper. Lay out half of the graham cracker onto the parchment paper, allow enough space in between to work.

Per my prior posts, it’s time to melt the coating! You can use a double boiler, however it is not necessary. I break the candy coating in half, include 1 tsp of shortening, and melt it on the lowest heat on my stove. I stir my chocolate constantly, and although it is tedious, it is important to watch for scorching.

If I notice the chocolate starting to scorch, I add an extra teaspoon of shortening. You can add as much as it takes to make the chocolate smooth, but be careful not to add too much!

Once the chocolate in melted, stir in about 2/3 of the bag of mini marshmallows. Blend well, and add extra marshmallows to make the mixture lighter.

Using a metal kitchen spoon, scoop 2-3 tablespoons of the marshmallow mixture onto each cracker. No need to be exact….

Take the leftover crackers, pretty side up, and smash them onto the marshmallow mixture.

Place the s’mores in the freezer for 10-15 minutes. While they are chilling, melt the chocolate coating in the same way. Once the s’mores are cool, remove them from the freezer and drizzle them in chocolate. Don’t skimp on the chocolate, it’s arguably the best part of traditional s’mores.

BOOM! S’mores…indoors. ❤ This recipe makes about 15-20 treats. They are best enjoyed chilled!

Enjoy your little taste of summer!


Best,

Kristine

4 thoughts on “A Taste of Summer

    • From a person that purposefully burns her marshmallows: I wonder how I could (safely) get that yummy charred-marshmallow taste indoors? I recently found a bar that makes “s’more martinis,” and they come complete with a charred marshmallow!

Leave a Reply

