Love at First Bite!

Valentine’s day is around the corner!  I have so many memories attached at February 14th…some awkward, some happy…and some perfect.

One thing I love about Valentine’s day is the timing.   In the midst of our New Year’s resolution workout plans, we are suddenly granted the perfect excuse to indulge.  It’s not everyday that we are encouraged to eat chocolate…which is sad, but true.  Why shouldn’t we take complete advantage?

I have been on a huge truffle kick lately.  I scoured the internet for inspiration.  I pieced things together.  After some serious experimenting in the kitchen…and I may have come up with the perfect Valentine’s treat!

I love the richness.

I love the contrast in texture between the crunchy shell and fluffy center.

I love eating raw cookie dough…and not worrying about food poisoning.

I call them

Michigan Cherry Chip Cookie Dough Truffles.

You need:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp salt

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup milk

1 package of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup chopped dried cherries

1 package chocolate candy coating

1-2 tsp shortening

1/2 package vanilla candy coating (optional)

Wax Paper & 2-3 cookie sheets

Begin by creaming the butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar on a low speed.

Add the milk and vanilla, and continue mixing.  Once everything is nice and fluffy, add the salt, and then add the flour slowly…1/2 cup at a time.

After all the ingredients are well mixed, add the package of mini chocolate chips.

Chop the 1 cup of dried cherries, and add them to the dough.  Feel free to add extra cherries for more fruit flavor!

Chill your dough for about an hour.  Once the dough is a good consistency, roll the dough into balls and place them on a cookie sheet, covered in wax paper.  Make sure they are not too large, these truffles are very rich!  You should get between 3-4 dozen.  Chill them again for about 15 minutes.

While the dough balls are chilling, melt the chocolate over low heat.  You can use a double boiler, however it is not necessary.  I break the candy coating in half, include 1 tsp of shortening, and melt it on the lowest heat on my stove.

I stir my chocolate constantly, and although it is tedious, it is important to watch for scorching.  If I notice the chocolate starting to scorch, I add an extra teaspoon of shortening.  You can add as much as it takes to make the chocolate smooth, but be careful not to add too much!

Remove the chilled dough balls from the fridge and dip them individually in the chocolate with a normal metal kitchen spoon. Gently tap the spoon on the side of the pan, and allow the extra chocolate to fall off.  Drop them onto the waxed paper, and try not to leave too much of a trail.

Once all of your truffles have been dipped, chill them a third time.

I also drizzled my truffles with melted vanilla bark, but it’s totally up to you!

These little treats go great with a cup of coffee or espresso.  Enjoy them with your sweetie, or keep them for yourself!

Although any dried fruit would have worked in this recipe, I chose to use cherries as a salute to my home state.  We love our cherries here in the Mitten.  Because of the cherry’s tart sweetness, I feel that no fruit compliments chocolate better.

These truffles are worth every calorie.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

All the best,

Kristine

4 thoughts on “Love at First Bite!

  1. Aloha Kristine,
    I love your blogs. Great colors, and lots of good information.
    If you would ever like to guest blog for us on Travel to Maui wedding tips we would love to have you.

    Marie Glodt
    Travel to Maui
    We specialize in honeymoons and destination weddings to Hawaii and Tahiti.

  2. Pingback: Wasabi + White Chocolate… | hello, sugar

  3. Pingback: Chippy Dough Bites | hello, sugar

Leave a Reply

